Hello Spring ~ My Nail Care Routine

30 Mar

Helloo everyone and welcome back to HappieBelle!

Happy Spring to all you!!

Spring – signifies happiness to me 🙂 .. out of the chilly, gunky weather, and ready to spring forward into bright, sunny, longer days, going out in the evening for long walks, pretty dresses, hats, sunglasses and sandals!

(I know, I am girly girl at heart and things in life ultimately revolve around being so!)

So, it’s time for sandals!! And that would be where I am going to go next into ~ Getting your nails (hands and feet) ready for pretty, springy nail colors!

I am in no way a beauty guru or something. I am just a normal, simple person with enthusiasm towards anything pretty and I love myself some gorgeous nail colors. So today, I wanted to share with you all my nail care routine. It ain’t nothing fancy, but I hope it inspires some of you to ‘prettify’ your nails.

nail-care-at-home


Also, I would love to know what your nail care routine is like.. Please share it with me in the comments below.

  • Let’s get started:

So, I don’t really have any particular ingredient or way or frequency that I do all of these below, but it’s just a bunch of few random tips:

* First, obviously clean up your old nail polish. Try and use a non-acetone based nail polish to avoid all the harshness from the chemicals.

* In a bowl of moderately hot water, add some shampoo conditioner (I have always done this, I feel the conditioning ingredients can get rid of the build-up and gunk on the nails) and mix well. One can also add in salt to the warm water. Immerse your hands / nails and let them soak in for at least 10 to 15 minutes.

* Then, wipe out excess water and get ready with the buffing and cleaning supplies.

* Clip and file your nails to the desired length and shape.

* Push back your cuticles and buff up the nails to get rid of build-up / dirt.

* Repeat the same above steps for feet, but add in an additional step of using something abrasive, like a pumice stone to get rid of the dry and rough skin.

foot-nail-care

 

* Moisturize your trimmed nails with something hydrating and enriching for the nails. (I have been using cuticle cream from Sally Beauty supply for the past few weeks, but virgin coconut oil, or castor oil works great in softening cuticles too). Massage gently with cirular motion onto your nails until it gets absorbed well.

* Let them rest for a few minutes (or hours if you have time), and then after applying your base coat (which is very important), apply your favorite shade of nail color and finish off with a top coat to avoid chipping quickly.

* If you are not applying nail color for that day, a good idea would be wear socks (after moisturizing nails and feet) and sleep overnight, to wake up with softer feet.

* Remember to repeat these steps once in a while and to take good care to have stronger, healthier nails.

Happy Spring and have fun!! 🙂

(Picture Credits: I got the images online, from unspecified websites).

Until next time,

Love Life!

DSCN5886

Leave a Reply

